O Último Samurai por Melhor Filosofia

The perfect blossom is a rare thing. You could spend your life looking for one and it would not be a wasted life.

A perfeita combinação entre fotografia e filosofia.

They say Japan was made by a sword. They say the old gods dipped a coral blade into the ocean, and when they pulled it out four perfect drops fell back into the sea, and those drops became the islands of Japan. I say, Japan was made by a handful of brave men. Warriors, willing to give their lives for what seems to have become a forgotten word: honor.

(…)

Winter, 1877. What does it mean to be Samurai? To devote yourself utterly to a set of moral principles. To seek a stillness of your mind. And to master the way of the sword.

(…)

Spring, 1877. This marks the longest I’ve stayed in one place since I left the farm at 17. There is so much here I will never understand. I’ve never been a church going man, and what I’ve seen on the field of battle has led me to question God’s purpose. But there is indeed something spiritual in this place. And though it may forever be obscure to me, I cannot but be aware of its power. I do know that it is here that I’ve known my first untroubled sleep in many years.

(…)

1876… day unknown, month unknown. I continue to live among these unusual people. I’m a captive and I cannot escape. Mostly I’m treated with a kind of mild neglect, as if I were a stray dog, or an unwelcome guest. Everyone smiles and bows, but beneath their courtesy I detect a deep reservoir of feeling. They are an intriguing people, from the moment they awake, they devote themselves to the perfection of whatever they pursue — I have never seen such discipline.  I’m surprised to learn that the word “Samurai” means “to serve”  and Katsumoto believes his rebellion to be in the service of the Emperor.

And so the days of the Samurai had ended. Nations, like men, it is sometimes said, have their own destiny. As for the American Captain, no one knows what became of him. Some say that he died of his wounds. Others, that he returned to his own country. But I like to think he may have at last found some small measure of peace, that we all seek, and few of us ever find.

PS1: O Último Samurai concorreu em 4 categorias do Oscar de 2004. Tom Cruise não estava entre os indicados, mas Ken Watanabe, maravilhoso, sim.

PS2: Outra boa frase do filme, dessa vez do Nathan: I think a man does what he can until his destiny is revealed.

PS3: Assista o trailer:

One thought on “O Último Samurai por Melhor Filosofia

Deixe uma Resposta

